Bendis on The Ultimate Universe’s “End”

ultimateHere’s what he had to say when facing the question of if it is really necessary to end the ultimate universe.

Bendis:

“Please allow me to not comment on unsubstantiated rumors and let us tell our story. and please believe me when I tell you that I have been working on the ultimate universe for 14 years. as important as it is to some of you it is doubly doubly doubly important to me. if not more so. and I promise you that I will not let you down and I will tell the story worth telling.

can you imagine if there were someone at your job who just decided it was their job to spoil everything that you do?   and if they can’t spoil it they just make something up?

that is what it’s like to try to tell a decent story for this generation of mainstream comic book creators.  see, if we deny the rumor, we give them hits, which is all they want, and if we don’t deny it, we make it true and give them hits. which is all they want.

 so no matter what I do, I lose. and no matter what I do they win.

i just want to tell a fucking story without this barnacle on my ass.  and, yes, i know, just mentioning them causes them to start masturbating.  I know I’m not helping myself but i just want to be clear where i stand with this. 

what’s funny to me is that no matter how many times these stupid websites are wrong, and they are wrong about half the time, people still believe what they read. and I’m not just talking about rich’s website.”

Take from it what you will, but this shows you how important such stories are to people like Bendis. Step back on the peddle when you raise your pitchforks about the state of the Ultimate Universe and remember that the people handling it and those that have handed it as long as Bendis realize how much it means to you and also means a lot MORE TO THEM. I have faith in whatever happens and hope that other readers can show the same respect towards those who put the time to give you the story and “story ending” you deserve.

Jideobi is the Comic Editor at Analog Addiction where he writes all things comics and comic related(especially if X-Men). Also follow him on Twitter @Siphen0.

8 thoughts on “Bendis on The Ultimate Universe’s “End””

  1. Not to be a jerk, but . . . you just did a post earlier today about Miles Morales going to the 616 comics. You stated it as though it’s fact, rather than unsubstantiated rumour and speculation. You were doing exactly what Bendis is complaining about.

    At this point, the talk of the end of the Ultimate line is a lot like the talk of Marvel rebooting its main line. Every single event gets speculation that it’s going to do it. AvX and Age of Ultron both stirred up tons of talk that Marvel was rebooting. The Ultimate line has been on the verge of ending for a decade. At this point, I really do think people should just shut the hell up until Marvel actually says they’ve decided to wind down the Ultimate line.

      1. Though, actually, just because he’s going to be going in 616 doesn’t mean he’ll be staying there. It’s entirely possible it’s just a temporary thing for a few issues of Cataclysm.

  2. from what i could tell of bendis was saying was not to spoil or misdirect and just read the story as it is. So I see it as a “Ultimate MARVEL NOW!” kinda re launch of the line

    1. That’s how I see it as well. Basically why I’ve told everyone I speak to that no matter what is speculated, never to assume the end of the Ultimate line. I mean no matter what I know I will enjoy Cataclysm and what comes after. Like Bleeding Cool comics say Cataclysm signals them being cancelled and I think it’s way to early to assume that. because of a title change.

Leave a Reply

